Service booking hotline: 0333 222 0925
Online Service booking
| Chat Online


Published Date: 6/4/2014

In past years, Toyota was a dominant force in the World Rally Championship through the 1980s and 90s.

Toyota Rally Gallery
The Japanese car maker was the producer of a succession of competition cars, which brought it a great haul of victories and driver and manufacturer championships.

Examples of the success and the participation of 25 years at rallying’s top echelon of the sport are now housed in pristine condition as part of Toyota Motorsport’s historic collection.

No longer a participant in the world rally championship, Toyota’s models are truly a part of history and have now been captured in a gallery of photographs, showing them in their former glory.

Snapping a history gallery of the Toyota rally models was leading creative automotive photographer, G.F. Williams. He shot some of the finest representatives of the cars engineered by Toyota Team Europe, the forerunner of today’s Toyota Motorsport (TMG).

Some of the legendary cars that Williams shot included the Toyota Celica TA64, from the era of super-powerful Group B rallying, and successive versions of the Celica GT4.

Other models in the gallery included Toyota’s first all-wheel-drive rally car and the Celica GT-Four ST165 with which Carlos Sainz secured the drivers’ championship in 1990.

As the catalogue of Toyota rally cars continues, they leave behind the Celica and instead are represented by the Corolla WRC, which was a special purpose model based on the European Corolla three-door hatchback.

Rare model inclusions in the TMG gallery collection include a MR2-based Group S concept, what was sadly, never completed.

Although Toyota’s rally cars are no longer part of the World Rally Championship races, they will be back in action this summer, taking to the special stage at the Goodwood Festival of Speed.

Other Toyota representatives at this year’s Goodwood Festival will be the TS040 Hybrid race car and the original TS010, which competed in the Le Mans 24 hours in 1991 and 1993.

Navigate to related content